Flash Fiction : A Marry Me Cake

Slice of pound cake

Slice of pound cake (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Tim!  Hello. Come in,” Jessica exclaimed as she opened the screen door wide enough to let the tall man in.  This was a pleasant surprise as Tim never came to visit and Jessica hadn’t seen him in months.  He was always charming and ready with smile for her, but they didn’t run in the same circles.  She kept to her book clubs and very prim and proper world while Tim tended to run in a more boisterous crowd.  The contractors and loggers.  No, they didn’t cross paths much, but she enjoyed every time she did get to see him.

“I just finished making a pot of coffee.  Would you care for a cup?” she asked over her shoulder as she walked towards the kitchen.

“Sure,” Tim answered, following her into the cheery room.

“Have a seat,” Jessica motioned to the kitchen table and chairs.  She took cups and small plates down from the cupboard, then reached into a drawer for spoons and dessert forks.  Tim arched a brow in question as she set a covered cake plate on the table.

Jessica lifted the cover to reveal three quarters of a moist yellow cake lovingly encased in a fluffy chocolate frosting.  “Can I tempt you with a piece?” she queried with a knowing smile.

Tim’s glazed over expression was enough of an answer so she sliced him a generous piece, then cut a much smaller one for herself.  After pouring the coffee and sitting down herself she motioned for time to dig in.

His first bite turned into a long drawn out moan of delight and Jessica smiled in pleasure.

“Good god woman, what did you put in this thing?  Ground up ecstasy?”  Time said this with a groan as he took another bite.

“No.  Just butter, sugar, eggs, flour, vanilla and other cake making ingredients.”

Tim looked up at her, a thoughtful expression on his face.

“Jessica Martin?”

“Hmm?”

“Marry me.”

Jessica laughed.  “Oh Tim, stop it.”  She sipped her coffee, but she was finding it hard not to smile like an idiot.

“I’m not joking.  I would give you anything you could ever want if you make me cake like this.  How are you at pie?”

 

I made a Betty Crocker Starlight cake with fluffy chocolate frosting the other day (I highly recommend this recipe if anyone cares, and yes, I only make homemade cakes)  The cake is long gone; my father adores cake, but this thought came to me and I just had to play around with a guy eating cake and asking a girl to marry him just because she  makes a fine cake.  I love cooking for men, and I kind of like showing off when I can with food. Hey, they always say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. You can’t tell me it isn’t true.

Well, my father is happy now because I just baked another cake yesterday. I don’t do much, if anything, for father’s day, but I know he appreciates that cake. For those interested, a Betty Crocker Daffodil Cake. Pillowy soft angel food like, but with a gorgeous yellow sponge swirled through from the egg yolks you add. (Another cake I highly recommend making, if you aren’t afraid of angel food cakes)

Signing off

~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

