I Want To Dance With Somebody

It’s true.  I admit it completely and somewhat proudly. I am a fan of Dancing With The Stars.  I suppose that you could pretty much say that being a woman = DWTS.  I have gotten sucked into the world of spray tans, glitter, and lots of bare male chests this season.  And like every season, I find myself wishing I could be on the show.  No, not an audience member… I mean, I want to dance!  Get my groove going.

“]Rhythm, a sequence in time repeated, featured ...For those who don’t know me, getting my groove on is laughable.  I do not have a groove.  My mother tried to teach me rhythm….  “I’ve got rhythm, I’ve got music, I’ve got my man, who could ask for anything more” was not a motto I could use.  In all reality, I don’t got it.  But, I’m dying to dance!  I love music, and I love watching dancing. 
I know I could be brilliant on that show.  Give me Maksim, Derek, or Mark, and I’ll kill the competition.  (Yes, I know I’m delusional.  Isn’t there something that says not to mess with my delusions?)

Well, I may never be on the show.  I may never take dance lesson, though if I ever have the opportunity, I am going to.  I may never find a use for dancing.  But I still love it.  And my one way to really enjoy it is listening to music and putting a specific dance to it.  Tonight I was thinking about the song “Young Turks” by Rod Stewart.  It would make a killer jive.   Eric Clapton’s “River of Tears” would be an amazing waltz.  That is how I think about dancing.  Putting dances to favorite songs. 

And this is coming from someone who can’t read music, very well.  My mother tried to get me to play the piano.  Ah yes, I was a very willful child, and I did not get math.  I was doomed.

So, I may never play music.  I may never dance.  But I can write, so I guess all’s not lost.  But I love dancing, and music, and combining the two makes DWTS one of my favorite shows.   I can’t even claim it as a guilty pleasure because I don’t feel guilty watching it.

Signing off
~Kate

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

