What I’m Currently Reading

Zephyr over on Presents of Mind posted her current reading list and other interesting tidbits about her reading life in her post What Books Sit By Your Beside Right Now?  I was impressed and I am going to borrow her layout for my own “currently reading” list.   I’m afraid I don’t have a wooden wine box to store my books, they tend to be piled or stacked, but I do have a four-poster bed (lacking the posts on one end, and only a headboard at the other…., but it affords a nice place to stack books. Way too many books, but books none-the-less. Oh, and the nightstand has space between the legs, along with space between the nightstand and the bed. See a pattern?

Below is a snapshot of first, what’s by my bed, and second, the stack from the library that happens to have a cubby, right now.

Pardon the cluttered look, there are a couple extra books that I have for backup reading if I perchance get bored.

Um, you can't see the titles, but these are the library books. Including the Sylvia Plath, a biography, another Emilie Loring, a picture book, and some health books. See, eclectic.

My Current Crazy List of What I Am Browsing/Reading

  • Franny and Zooey – J.D. Salinger
  • To The Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf
  • A Room of One’s Own – Virginia Woolf
  • The Making of a Marchioness – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • Bed of Roses – Nora Roberts  [own]
  • Vision in White – Nora Roberts
  • A Certain Crossroad – Emilie Loring
  • Surrender – Amanda Quick  [own]
  • Mine Till Midnight – Lisa Kleypas  [own]
  • Persuasion – Jane Austen  [own]
  • Death Comes to Pemberly – P.D. James
  • The Lover’s Tongue : A Merry Romp Through the Language of Love and Sex – Mark Morton
… this also includes my journal, various composition books that I write in, my notepad I write in, and I want to include my laptop as most of the time it is right there since I write late into the night, and I do read a lot of my own work there…

What are your reading habits?

  • Do you read anywhere except in bed?

Most of the time I read in my chair at the table after a meal.  I like to have a cup of tea or something and read if I have a chance. Then if I am walking, I like to read, along with any spare moment I get the opportunity. Most of the time I end up reading instead of writing, so right now I am reading as much as I can while I have time with the cold winter weather.

  • Do you write in the bath?

Since I don’t actually have a bath and it’s a shower, reading in there would be quite hazardous to my books.  I did see a waterproof notepad (as in write with a pen notepad) for the shower, and I think it would be great, but until they make waterproof books, I won’t be doing this anytime soon.

If you do read in bed what books you keep there?

Usually all the books I’m currently reading, unless one has happened to stay downstairs.  I also keep a selection of research type books: thesaurus, rhyming dictionary, pocket dictionary, an architecture dictionary, and various other books I generally don’t read.  Sometimes when I’m in a cleaning spree, I reorganize, but it’s been a while since doing so.

Do you savor books with tea, coffee, wine, a lover, a cat, etc.?

Yes, definitely with the tea, coffee, wine, and dog.  I can’t have a cat, nor do I really want one anymore. My dachshund is enough.  I would love to share books with a lover, but since my tastes are fairly eclectic, I don’t expect to really ‘share’ them with anyone. I’m actually okay with that.  I am also a firm believer in certain music for certain books. For instance, it doesn’t matter what book I’m reading that happens to be British, I can and want to listen to the Pride and Prejudice soundtrack.  The music fits with everything British.

When do you usually read? Before you get up? As you go to sleep? During those dreadful nights you can’t sleep?

Lately my reading is after lunch while I’m drinking a cup of tea or coffee, but I like reading at night, and in the morning on days when I don’t have to get right up.  I’ve never been one to read in the middle of the night because I can’t sleep. Usually it’s more of a “oh, this is such a good book, I don’t think I can put it down, and oh look it’s three in the morning and I need to be up in five hours” kind of thing.

Do you like to eat while you read? And in bed do you share your sheets with the crumbs?

Sometimes, but most of the time I forget that I have something to eat when I’m reading.  Also another reason why tea and coffee get cold quite frequently for me and are forever being heated in the microwave.

  • Are there perennial books you keep by your bed as well as those you switch out after reading?

Usually an Emilie Loring of some sort, Persuasion, my Bible, plus, like I said, there are the books that were once favorites but are now just there. If it’s a library book, obviously it get’s switched out.  And all the books listed that I’m currently reading, if they don’t have ‘own’ after them, are library books.  Most of the time if I’m done with a book and I don’t plan on reading it anytime soon, it gets switched out for what I am currently reading.

  • Do you write in bed?

This is kind of a no duh moment.  If I didn’t write in bed, half of my stuff would have never been written.  Bed is my place to tap out things, especially emails, but I enjoy leaning back and being warm. Being warm is crucial to writing.

Signing off

~Kate

One thought on “What I’m Currently Reading

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

