A New Year Redux

Okay, now that I’m sure I have your attention, and I’m sorry for the ploy, but it got you here right?  Hoping you would hear about a redone New Year?  Not so.  Sorry.  Okay, well I’m not that sorry.

Declutter your life

Everywhere you turn you see how to improve your life.  Maybe it’s a January thing.  I’m not sure, and I do not have the resources to research it, but really, everything is about improving on one’s self.  Clear the clutter, feng shui yourself, organize a kitchen, clean a kitchen, redo this room, that room, eat healthy.  January is this giant fixit month.

Are you Feng Shui-ed?

Maybe it is because of all those New Year’s resolutions half of us won’t get to(yeah, I’m still not doing my yoga yet) or this thing that we all think we need to improve ourselves.  But why this month? Why not, say, June?  June is a lovely month.  It’s warm, you want to be outside, you don’t mind cleaning, it’s a pretty nice month.

But January?

And I’m just as much to blame as anyone else.  I have this insane (okay it’s probably not insane) desire to clean up the clutter.  A valid improvement in my life as well, I do clutter easily. It’s just so easy to do!  Organize, sew, start a new hobby that I seriously do not have time for.

Every where you turn you see it. I was at the library and there, sitting in a prime spot was 1000 ways to Clean Up the Clutter, or something along those lines.  The volunteers had set it out specifically for the month of January. Things to fix up your life.  Along with exercise, diet, health…. bla bla bla.  And what did I do?  I checked out the clutter book.  Yep, I fell for their ploy.  They are good.  Along with that, I checked out a book on healthy living.  Funny thing is, I live a pretty healthy life.  My parents have an organic produce business, we do not use tons of household chemicals (though I do love Softscrub), we feed our animals naturally, we eat tons of vegetables, we get our sun, we drink water, we sleep healthy…. Why do I need to read a book on living healthy?  Who knows, but I checked it out anyways.

Today, going through the second-hand store in town, on a table were three books on feng shui-ing your life, furniture, etc.  I almost, almost picked one up just to see, but then decided I can  only handle so many improvements all at one time.

Then tonight, looking through an older Martha Stewart Living magazine, old as in a couple of years, January issue, the whole thing is pretty much dedicated to organizing your life.  How to keep your kitchen sparkling clean.  Yes, that is nice, don’t get me wrong, but don’t you want it sparkling clean in March?  August? Gasp, and December when you have holiday guests?

Because seriously, come March, our New Years resolutions have petered away and we have lost some of our motivation.  We need the reminders more than just in January.  Granted, I’ve seen how to’s all year long, but this strange obsession with the first of the year.  We should learn to pace ourselves because really, if we overdo improving all at once, we get burned out.

Oh wait, isn’t there a book for being burned out?  Kidding.  Just kidding.  Though hold on let me Google that…….  Okay, yep, there are books on that too.

Well, so here I am, improving myself as well in the new year.  Whether or not I succeed is another post at another time.  For now I shall settle with trying to get back to yoga a few times a week, writing here and at ‘Escaping the Inkwell’ once a week, or more over there, and trying to clean up the clutter.  For your information I think the yoga and writing are the easiest of the three. I’m a lost cause when it come to clutter.  And I don’t think a book is going to help me solve that.

Signing off

~Kate

(images from : http://jogjatec.com/2009/07/08/5-common-mistakes-with-the-feng-shui-of-your-bed/

http://www.divavillage.com/article.php?id=36732

Tell Me Your Thoughts (I.E. Leave a Reply)

